Statistics Give Some Insight Into This Week's ASA Member Track National Championship
Barry Beggarly Continues to Lead the Standings
Barry Beggarly continues to lead the Joe Gibbs Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship standings.  But Chrissy Wallace, David Flynn, Shelby Stroebel, Mike Reichenberger and more are chasing Beggarly for that tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing.

This is still far from over as some of the drivers near the top of the standings have more events on record versus those tracks who got a late start and are catching up with two and a half months remaining in the 2011 season.

The key thing to remember is that there are many factors involved in the unique point average used for the National Championship.  The proprietary formula used not only factors wins and finishes, but they also factor the number of cars passed, number of events and car counts as well. 

The statistics among the top-ten in the standings may give some insight as to how each driver has the point average they have so far this season. 

Beggarly, who leads the Late Model points at Ace Speedway in Altamahaw, NC, has an average of 3.2460 this week.  This average comes from three wins, an average starting position of 5.3333; average finishing position is 2.4444, and average car count of 17.889 in nine events. 

Chrissy Wallace leads the Late Model standings at Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, MO.  She has an average of 2.8988.  In her first nine events, she has three
Wins, an average starting position of 9.1111, average finishing position of 4.5556, and an average car count of 14.889. 

Shelby Stroebel is third overall with an average of 2.8603. The point leader in the ASA Modified division at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID already has two wins this season with an average starting position of 10.6667 and an average finishing position of 2.4444.  The average car count is 12.6667 with nine events on record.

David Flynn is fourth overall in the National Standings and leads the Late Model Sportsman points at Newport Motor Speedway in Newport, TN.  He has an average of 2.8417.  In his first nine events, he has three wins, an average starting position of 3.6667, an average finishing position of 3.6667, and an average car count of 14.333.

Mike Reichenberger moved into the top-five with his first feature win of the season this past weekend at Norway Speedway in Norway, MI.  He currently leads the Late Model point standings at the track located in the U.P. of Michigan.  So far in seven starts, he has the one win, an average starting position of 9.1429 and an average finishing position of 4.1429.  The average car count is 16.8571.

Michael Hale continues to lead the point standings in the Maverik Modified division at Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, UT.  He has an average of 2.2052. This is with seven events on record so far; he has two wins, average starting position 13.2857, an average finishing position of 5.7143 and an average car count of 18.1429.

Randall Wilhorn leads the Late Model point standings at Marshfield Motor Speedway in Marshfield, WI.  They have six events on record so far this season.  He has yet to visit victory lane but has an average starting position of 5.3333 and an average finishing position of 4.6667.  The average car count is 14.6667.

Ryan Stiltner is leading the Charger division at Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, VA.  He has an average of 1.7576 with eight events on record so far.  He has four wins, an average starting position of 2.6250, finishing position of 2.1250, and an average car count of 9.000.

Mark Mackesy picked up his third win of the season to continue his point lead in the Late Model division at State Park Speedway in Wausau, WI.  In the National Standings, he has an average of 1.5883.  So far in four events, he has an average starting position of 6.2500 and a finishing average of 1.5000. The car count average is 17.7500.

Mark Shackleford rounds out the top ten with an average of 1.4055.  He is in a tight points battle for the Super Late Model championship at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, CA.  He picked up his first feature win last Saturday night.  He has an average starting position of 2.5000 and an average finishing position of 2.1667.  The average car count is 9.8333.

“The Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship system is proving to work very well as we are in our fourth year with this program,” Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  “The overall goal is to help provide exciting racing at our ASA Member Tracks for the fans and the competitors.  The formula is not easy to figure out.  Which can be frustrating for a competitor.  But it keeps them on top of their game and at the same time help provide some exciting racing for the short track fans who go and watch them weekly.  The next two and a half months are going to be exciting to watch. This will be on the edge of your seat racing action.”

Fans can look at their favorite driver statistics by visiting’s Championship Insider at  It is free to sign up.

Drivers from participating ASA Member Tracks across the United States have chosen one of their divisions as their premiere divisions.  Those drivers in the premiere division, who are ASA members in good standing, will compete at their ASA Member Track to first win their track championship.  Once they accomplish that goal, they will then be matched up against the other premiere division champions to determine the National Champion.

ASA has once again teamed up with to create a proprietary point system that is much like a batting average in baseball.  Some of those factors used to create an average are wins, number of cars passed, finishes, car count, and number of events.  No one knows what has more of a factor over another.

Race fans and competitors can follow the standings on  The opening page will show who are the current track point leaders who would be eligible for the National Championship if it ended today.  The East and West Region standings gives a complete listing of all of the drivers participating this season.

Past National Champions are Cary Stapp, Thunderhill Raceway (2008), Tommy Cloce, Adirondack Speedway (2009), and Bryan Wordelman, Rocky Mountain Raceways (2010).

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl champion as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program sanctions dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information call (386) 258-2221, or send an email to The latest news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA can be found by visiting

(As of 7/20/11)

1.Barry Beggarly (Ace) 3.2460
2.Chrissy Wallace  (I-44) 2.8988
3.Shelby Stroebel (Meridian) 2.8603
4.David Flynn (Newport) 2.8417
5.Mike Reichenberger (Norway) 2.3307
6.Michael Hale (RMR) 2.2052
7.Randall Wilhorn (Marshfield) 1.8371
8.Ryan Stiltner (LPR) 1.7576
9.Mark Mackesy (State Park) 1.5883
10. Mark Shackleford (Orange Show) 1.4055