Tight Point Battles at ASA Member Tracks Heat Up National Championship Battle
Winning Track Title Pivotal In Chase for the National Title
Some of the tight battles at the ASA Member Tracks, could have an effect on whose name we will see in the running for the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.  This is due to one of the rules to be the National Champion; they first have to win their 2011 track championship.

A good example of this at the top of the standings where Barry Beggarly, who is the overall leader in the National Championship with an average of 2.5396, only has a four-point lead over Jason York in the track standings at Ace Speedway.  York himself has an average of 2.4634 in the National Standings and could be a player himself in the national picture if he took over the point lead at the ASA Member Track in Altamahaw, NC.

With the tight point battle at Ace, this could open the door for Shelby Stroebel, who is currently second overall with an average of 2.4923 to possibly put his name at the top of the National Standings over the next few weeks.  He has a healthy points lead in the ASA Modified division at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID.  He holds a 214-point lead over Chris Fenton in the track standings. 

There is also a tight battle in the Late Model Sportsman division at Newport Motor Speedway in Newport, TN.  David Flynn, who is third overall in the National Standings with an average of 2.2037, also has a four-point lead over Wayne Webb in the track standings.  Webb has a national average of 2.1396.  In fact, 29 points separate the top-five in the track standings.

The point battle is also getting interesting at Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, MO.  Ken Dickinson holds a 25-point lead over Chrissy Wallace in the Late Model track standings.  Wallace made a last lap pass on Dickinson last Saturday to win her third feature of the year, where Dickinson remains consistent and looking for his first win of the year.  In the National Standings, Dickinson has an average of 2.1712 where Wallace has an average of 2.0758.

Only 30 points separate Tyler Whetstone and Michael Hale in the ASA Maverik Modified division at Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, UT.   Whetstone is fifth overall and has an average of 2.0984 while Hale has a higher average of 2.2052.

Ryan Stiltner holds a 28-point lead over Kevin Wolfe in the Charger division standings at Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, VA.  In the National Standings, Stiltner is sixth with an average of 1.5679.  Wolfe has an average of 1.3930.

Mike Reichenberger continues to hold the point lead in the Late Model standings at Norway Speedway in Norway, MI.  But that lead is only five points over Dillon Kralovetz.  Reichenberger is seventh overall with an average of 1.2676.  Kralovetz has an average of 1.0716.

Mark Shackleford continues to lead the Super Late Model standings at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, CA.  He holds a four-point lead over Matt Hicks and John Manke, and 26 points separate the top-five.  Shackleford has an average of 1.1428.

Mark Mackesy holds a 13-point lead over Mark Eswein in the Super Late Model standings at State Park Speedway in Wausau, WI.  Machesy has an average of 0.8404 in the National Standings.

"We are nearing the halfway point of the 2011 Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.  As you can see, we are not even close to see who will be our National Champion," Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  "The racing for the second half of the season is going to be competitive and tough.  I would encourage everyone to visit their local ASA Member Track and see the great racing, especially for those divisions competing for the National Championship."

Drivers from participating ASA Member Tracks across the United States have chosen one of their divisions as their premiere divisions.  Those drivers in the premiere division, who are ASA members in good standing, will compete at their ASA Member Track to first win their track championship.  Once they accomplish that goal, they will then be matched up against the other premiere division champions to determine the National Champion.

ASA has once again teamed up with speednetdirect.com to create a proprietary point system that is much like a batting average in baseball.  Some of those factors used to create an average are wins, number of cars passed, finishes, car count, and number of events.  No one knows what has more of a factor over another.

Race fans and competitors can follow the standings on www.speednetdirect.com.  The opening page will show who are the current track point leaders who would be eligible for the National Championship if it ended today.  The East and West Region standings gives a complete listing of all of the drivers participating this season.

Past National Champions are Cary Stapp, Thunderhill Raceway (2008), Tommy Cloce, Adirondack Speedway (2009), and Bryan Wordelman, Rocky Mountain Raceways (2010).

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl champion as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program sanctions dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information call (386) 258-2221, or send an email to info@asa-racing.com. The latest news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA can be found by visiting www.ASA-Racing.com.

(As of 7/7/11)

1.     Barry Beggarly (Ace Speedway) - 2.5396
2.     Shelby Stroebel (Meridian Speedway) - 2.4923
3.     David Flynn (Newport Motor Speedway) - 2.2037
4.     Ken Dickinson (Lebanon I-44 Speedway) - 2.1712
5.     Tyler Whetstone (Rocky Mountain Raceways) - 2.0984
6.     Ryan Stiltner (Lonesome Pine Raceway) - 1.5679
7.     Mike Reichenberger (Norway Speedway) - 1.2676
8.     Mark Shackleford (Orange Show Speedway) - 1.1428
9.     Mark Mackesy (State Park Speedway) - 0.8404