Wallace and Beggarly in a Close Battle for Joe Gibb Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Standings
Wallace Leads for Second-Straight Week
For the second week in a row, Chrissy Wallace is the leader in the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship standings.  Wallace’s sixth place finish in the Late Model feature last Saturday night has tightened up her lead over Barry Beggarly.  But Shelby Stroebel’s win last Saturday could bring him into the hunt.

Wallace She started 13th and finished sixth in the feature event on Saturday night. She only has a 15-point lead over Ken Dickinson in the Late Model standings at Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, MO.  She has a national average of 4.2506. 

Barry Beggarly finished fourth after a wild feature event last Friday night.
He only has a two-point lead over Jason York in the Late Model standings at Ace Speedway in Altamahaw, NC.  Beggarly is second overall in the national standings with an average of 4.2320.

Shelby Stroebel has a comfortable points lead in the ASA Modified division at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID.  He is focused on what it will take to win the National Championship as he picked up another feature win this past Saturday night.  He is third overall with an average of 3.8027 and will continue make a charge to the front until the finale on September 25, 2011.

Wayne Webb moved ahead of David Flynn in the Late Model Sportsman standings at Newport Motor Speedway in Newport, TN.  His lead is only two points over Flynn and has a 12-point lead over Zack Franks.  Webb has a national average of 3.7578.  One side note, if Flynn were in the lead at Newport, he would be third overall in the national standings with an average of 3.8109. 

Mike Reichenberger holds a four-point lead over Dillon Kralovetz in the Late Model standings at Norway Speedway in Norway, MI.  Reichenberger is fifth in the national standings with an average of 3.3211.

Michael Hale opened up his point lead over Tyler Whetstone from 5 to 29 points after their feature event this past Saturday night.  Hale has a national average of 3.1669.

Ryan Stiltner had his win streak stopped this past weekend in the Charger division at Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, VA.  He has fewer events on record at this time as the top-five but could catch up, as they will have more events coming up this month and next month.  He has a national average of 1.9560.

Mark Mackesy also has fewer events on record then his fellow ASA Member Track point leaders.  He continues to lead the point standings in the Late Model division at State Park Speedway in Wausau, WI.  His national average is 1.9206.

Mother Nature has not been good to Randall Wilhorn, the current Late Model point leader at Marshfield Motor Speedway in Marshfield, WI.  Their last two events have been rained out.  He continues to have a national average of 1.8371.

Mark Shackleford finished second in the Super Late Model feature this past Saturday night at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, CA.  He rounds out the top-ten with an average of 1.4055.

“This is going to be very interesting to watch over the next seven weeks as our ASA Member Tracks who started later will be catching up with their events and champions are being crowned,” Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  “Many of our competitors are close to reaching the 14 event mark which could drastically change the look in the standings.  We set up the National Championship average to be precise when at least 14 events are on record.  All of their events will count towards the National Championship, but reaching 14 events will give us an honest look at who could get the opportunity to tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing.”

Fans can look at their favorite driver statistics by visiting SpeedNetDirect.com’s Championship Insider at www.championshipinsider.com.  It is a free membership site, sign up today!

Drivers from participating ASA Member Tracks across the United States have chosen one of their divisions as their premiere divisions.  Those drivers in the premiere division, who are ASA members in good standing, will compete at their ASA Member Track to first win their track championship.  Once they accomplish that goal, they will then be matched up against the other premiere division champions to determine the National Champion.

ASA has once again teamed up with speednetdirect.com to create a proprietary point system that is much like a batting average in baseball.  Some of the factors used to create an average are wins, number of cars passed, finishes, car count, and number of events.  No one knows what has more of a factor over another.

Race fans and competitors can follow the standings on www.speednetdirect.com.  The opening page shows the current track point leaders that would be eligible for the National Championship if it ended today.  The East and West Region standings give a complete listing of all of the drivers participating this season.

Past National Champions are Cary Stapp, Thunderhill Raceway (2008), Tommy Cloce, Adirondack Speedway (2009), and Bryan Wordelman, Rocky Mountain Raceways (2010).

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl champion as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program sanctions dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information call (386) 258-2221, or send an email to info@asa-racing.com. The latest news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA can be found by visiting www.ASA-Racing.com.

(As of 8/10/11)

1.Chrissy Wallace (Lebanon I-44 Speedway) – 4.2506
2.Barry Beggarly (Ace Speedway) – 4.2320
3.Shelby Stroebel (Meridian Speedway) – 3.8027
4.Wayne Webb (Newport Motor Speedway) – 3.7578
5.Mike Reichenberger (Norway Speedway) – 3.3211
6.Michael Hale (Rocky Mountain Raceways) – 3.1669
7.Ryan Stiltner (Lonesome Pine Raceway) – 1.9560
8.Mark Mackesy (State Park Speedway) – 1.9206
9.Randall Wilhorn (Marshfield Motor Speedway) – 1.8371
10. Mark Shackleford (Orange Show Speedway) – 1.4055