Wallace's Sixth Feature Win Puts Her Atop Joe Gibbs Driven ASA Member Track National Championship Standings
Close Race Between Wallace and Beggarly Shaping Up
Chrissy Wallace won her sixth feature event this past Saturday night at Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, MO, to move back to the top of the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship standings.   Barry Beggarly, Shelby Stroebel and Wayne Webb are not that far behind as they compete for a tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing.

Wallace started eighth in the feature event as she held off Dale Roper Jr. for the win. With that win, she has opened up a 165-point lead over Ken Dickinson in the Late Model standings at the 3/8-mile asphalt track.  She has the most feature wins among all of the competitors participating in the 2011 National Championship. She has an average of 4.6284.

Barry Beggarly didn’t compete this past weekend as the Late Model division had the weekend off at Ace Speedway in Altamahaw, NC.  The Late Models will be in action this Friday night for a 100-lap feature event.  He maintains an average of 4.6026.

Shelby Stroebel almost had a perfect night last Saturday at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID.  He finished second in the first feature and won the second feature event at the quarter-mile asphalt oval.  His finishes vaulted him to third overall with an average of 4.3027.

Wayne Webb also enjoyed a weekend off but will be back in action this Saturday night with twin 25-lap feature events for the Late Model Sportsman division at Newport Motor Speedway in Newport, TN.  Webb is fourth overall with an average of 4.0465.

Michael Hale finished fifth last Saturday night in the Maverik Modified division at Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, UT.  He has a 31-point lead over Tyler Whetstone in the track standings.  Hale has a national average of 3.6419, which puts him fifth overall.

Mike Reichenberger continues to find himself in a tight point battle with Dillon Kralovetz as only seven points separate the two drivers at Norway Speedway in Norway, MI.  Reichenberger finished sixth last Friday night and is sixth in the national standings with an average of 3.3211.

Mark Mackesy will be back in action this Thursday night at State Park Speedway in Wausau, WI.  He currently has a 50-point lead over Tim Sauter in the Late Model track standings.  He is seventh in the national standings with an average of 2.2873.

Ryan Stiltner got back on track at Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, VA this past Saturday night and won another Charger division feature event.  He continues to hold a big lead in the track point standings.  He is eighth overall in the national standings with an average of 2.1222.

Randall Wilhorn and Ronnie Rihn are in a very tight point battle for the Super Late Model championship at Marshfield Motor Speedway in Marshfield, WI.  Wilhorn has a national average of 1.8371 while Rihn has an average of 1.7157.

Mark Shackleford will be back in action this Saturday night at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, CA. He rounds out the top-ten with an average of 1.6908.

“It is appearing that the battle for the 2011 Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship is going to come down to the final week,” Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  “Barry Beggarly wins one week and he goes to the lead. Chrissy Wallace wins the next and she is in the lead.  Shelby Stroebel almost wins two features and he is not far behind Wallace and Beggarly.  Newport Motor Speedway is showing their muscle as their top drivers are not only in a thick points battle at their track, but could also be a factor when this is all said and done.  It wouldn’t surprise me if the margin of victory is less than the 0.0028 margin was last year.”

Fans can look at their favorite driver statistics by visiting SpeedNetDirect.com’s Championship Insider at www.championshipinsider.com.  It is a free membership site, sign up today!

Drivers from participating ASA Member Tracks across the United States have chosen one of their divisions as their premiere divisions.  Those drivers in the premiere division, who are ASA members in good standing, will compete at their ASA Member Track to first win their track championship.  Once they accomplish that goal, they will then be matched up against the other premiere division champions to determine the National Champion.

ASA has once again teamed up with speednetdirect.com to create a proprietary point system that is much like a batting average in baseball.  Some of the factors used to create an average are wins, number of cars passed, finishes, car count, and number of events.  No one knows what has more of a factor over another.

Race fans and competitors can follow the standings on www.speednetdirect.com.  The opening page shows the current track point leaders that would be eligible for the National Championship if it ended today.  The East and West Region standings give a complete listing of all of the drivers participating this season.

Past National Champions are Cary Stapp, Thunderhill Raceway (2008), Tommy Cloce, Adirondack Speedway (2009), and Bryan Wordelman, Rocky Mountain Raceways (2010).

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl champion as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program sanctions dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information call (386) 258-2221, or send an email to info@asa-racing.com. The latest news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA can be found by visiting www.ASA-Racing.com.

(As of 8/24/11)

1.Chrissy Wallace (Lebanon I-44 Speedway) – 4.6284
2.Barry Beggarly (Ace Speedway) – 4.6026
3.Shelby Stroebel (Meridian Speedway) – 4.3027
4.Wayne Webb (Newport Motor Speedway) – 4.0465
5.Michael Hale (Rocky Mountain Raceways) – 3.6419
6.Mike Reichenberger (Norway Speedway) – 3.3211
7.Mark Mackesy (State Park Speedway) – 2.2873
8.Ryan Stiltner (Lonesome Pine Raceway) – 2.1222
9.Randall Wilhorn (Marshfield Motor Speedway) – 1.8371
10. Mark Shackleford (Orange Show Speedway) – 1.6908