Top-Five in a Tight Battle for ASA Member Track Nat'l Title
Jason York Continues to Lead the Standings
ASA Racing PR
It is still very early in the 2011 season, but there is already a tight battle for the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.  The margin from first to fifth is only 0.3293, and this is far from over with competitors from all over the United States.

Jason York continues to be the overall leader with an average of 1.5257.  The current point leader in the Late Model division at Ace Speedway in Altamahaw, NC, York is already in a tight battle with Barry Beggarly and Rodney Cook.  The three will battle it out with twin 50's this Friday night.

Shelby Stroebel picked up his first feature win of the season last weekend at Meridian Speedway in Meridian, ID. Stroebel is the point leader in the ASA Modified point leader and has an average of 1.4292.  He is only 0.0965 behind York in the national standings.

Ken Dickinson's third place finish in the ASA Late Model feature at Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, MO last Saturday night has him third in the national standings.  Dickinson has an average of 1.3483 and is only 0.1774 behind York.  Dickinson holds a 40-point lead over Chrissy Wallace in the track standings. 

Dickinson has 33 years of racing under his belt.  He also has built cars as well.  Including Carl Edwards first Baby Grand and even saw his first backflip. Six years ago, he lost everything in a fire, including his racecars.  Today, he is enjoying the fun he is having at Lebanon I-44 Speedway. "I have a really good chassis but a weak motor, just financially not in the position to do anything.  I am riding on experience and luck," Dickinson said.  "I am still getting greasy under the car, working on it and not sitting on a computer."

Dickinson would be ready for a tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing if he won the Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.  "The only thing I fear is that they would be leery of my age, but I still feel like I am 25-years-old," Dickinson said with a smile.  "I would like to have just one thing, that opportunity to show my skills to a team like Joe Gibbs Racing.  I want to show them that we who race at short tracks on Saturday nights can race inside television sets as well."

Not far behind Dickinson is Tyler Whetstone, who leads the points in the ASA Modified division at Rocky Mountain Raceways in West Valley City, UT.  In the national standings, Whetstone has an average of 1.3423 and is only 0.1834 behind York.  At RMR, he holds a 51-point lead over Michael Hale.

David Flynn rounds out the top-five with an average of 1.1964.  Flynn currently leads the points in the Late Model Sportsman division at Newport Motor Speedway in Newport, TN.  He is only 0.3293 behind York in the national standings.  Not only is he in a tight point battle for the National Championship, but also is in a tight battle at Newport Motor Speedway as 15 points only separate the top five.

Ryan Stiltner continues to lead the Charger division standings at Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, VA.  He is sixth overall in the National Standings with an average of 0.9795.  At LPR, he has an 18-point lead over Steve Sims in the track standings.

Mark Mackesy came up one spot short of making it two feature wins in a row last Thursday night at State Park Speedway in Wausau, WI.  His second place finish keeps him at the top of the Late Model standings.  He has an average of 0.8404 in the National Standings and is seventh overall.

Tom Lindquist continues to stay eighth in the National Standings as Norway Speedway in Norway, MI was rained out last Friday night.  He has an average of 0.6623.

Mark Shackleford will get back behind the wheel of his Super Late Model this Saturday night at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, CA after the track took a short break.  He is ninth overall with an average of 0.6617.

"When you look at the standings and see how close it is, the difference is only a few positions on the track," Dennis Huth, ASA President said.  "It is great to have the top-five, this early separated by only 0.3293.  But, still this is very early.  Many things could happen from now until the end of September that could easily shuffle things up in the overall standings.  One thing that the National Standings and the track standings are showing is that the racing is very competitive at all of our ASA Member Tracks.  Fans need to get out and witness these great battles in person and support your local favorite ASA Member Track."

Drivers from participating ASA Member Tracks across the United States have chosen one of their divisions as their premiere divisions.  Those drivers in the premiere division, who are ASA members in good standing, will compete at their ASA Member Track to first win their track championship.  Once they accomplish that goal, they will then be matched up against the other premiere division champions to determine the National Champion.

ASA has once again teamed up with to create a proprietary point system that is much like a batting average in baseball.  Some of those factors used to create an average are wins, number of cars passed, finishes, car count, and number of events.  No one knows what has more of a factor over another.

Race fans and competitors can follow the standings on  The opening page will show who are the current track point leaders who would be eligible for the National Championship if it ended today.  The East and West Region standings gives a complete listing of all of the drivers participating this season.

Past National Champions are Cary Stapp, Thunderhill Raceway (2008), Tommy Cloce, Adirondack Speedway (2009), and Bryan Wordelman, Rocky Mountain Raceways (2010).

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Joe Gibbs Racing is one of the premier organizations in NASCAR, currently fielding three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams, two NASCAR Nationwide Series teams and a driver development program. Based in Huntersville, N.C., and owned by Joe Gibbs - a three-time Super Bowl champion as head coach of the Washington Redskins and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - JGR has competed in NASCAR since 1992, winning three Cup Series championships and more than 80 NASCAR races, including three Brickyard 400s and the 1993 Daytona 500.

The ASA Member Track program sanctions dirt and asphalt short tracks along with road courses around the United States, as well as a variety of regional and national touring series. For more information call (386) 258-2221, or send an email to The latest news and information from all the racetracks and tours involved in the ASA can be found by visiting


1.     Jason York (Ace Speedway, Altamahaw, NC) - 1.5257
2.     Shelby Stroebel (Meridian Speedway, Meridian, ID) - 1.4292
3.     Ken Dickinson (Lebanon I-44 Speedway, Lebanon, MO) - 1.3483
4.     Tyler Whetstone (Rocky Mountain Raceways, West Valley City, UT) - 1.3423
5.     David Flynn (Newport Motor Speedway, Newport, TN) - 1.1964
6.     Ryan Stiltner (Lonesome Pine Raceway, Coeburn, VA) - 0.9795
7.     Mark Mackesy (State Park Speedway, Wausau, WI) - 0.8404
8.     Tom Lindquist (Norway Speedway, Norway, MI) - 0.6623
9.     Mark Shackleford (Orange Show Speedway, San Bernardino, CA) - 0.6617

Ken Dickinson (21) goes to the inside of Cole Williams (46) during some recent racing action at Lebanon I-44 Speedway, an ASA Member Track in Lebanon, MO.
(Tim Berrier Photo)