Atlanta Motor Speedway's Winter Flurry Race Three Results
Biggers, Barnes, Bodwell and Clark Are Among The Winners
Track PR Report
Moving from the road course to the short track for the third race of the 2010-11 Winter Flurry series, four drivers claimed their first wins of the season on Atlanta Motor Speedway’s quarter-mile short track.

Garrett Biggers (Bandits), Brady Boswell (Young Lions), Atlanta Motor Speedway president Ed Clark (Masters) and Doug Stevens (Pro) all captured their first victories of the 2010-11 Winter Flurry season during the season’s third event. Meanwhile, two competitors – Parker Barnes in Outlaws and Garrett Smithley in Semi-Pro – each posted their third-straight win to start the Winter Flurry season, following consecutive road course victories with short-track wins on Saturday.

The Pro feature race began with veteran Stevens in front, but Sean Rayhall nosed ahead of the five-time Pro champion in the opening turns. Rayhall held the lead through the opening circuits, but Stevens passed the leader after Rayhall was loose exiting turn four. After recovering, Rayhall attempted to block additional cars from passing, but Taylor Hull snuck past and seized the second position. Charging to overtake the two leaders in the waning laps, Rayhall would slam into Hull’s rear bumper in the final turn, resulting in a black flag for rough driving while Stevens claimed the win.

Biggers held the advantage to begin the Bandits feature race, but the action was quickly stalled after a six-vehicle collision on the first lap. Following a pair of early restarts, Biggers jumped ahead of the field and raced unchallenged through the checkered flag for the win.

Alex Coffey, the 2010 Thursday Thunder Bandits class champion, claimed the pole position to start the Outlaws feature race. Now competing in a more-challenging class, the Bandits champion held the lead for the opening laps, but Parker Barnes dove to the inside on the sixth circuit to take the lead position. Joe Wilder closed on Barnes in the race’s closing moments, but Barnes held his advantage to take the checkered flag and win for the third-consecutive race.

The Young Lions feature race began with Boswell pacing the field. Surging to an early lead, Boswell pulled away from the pack as Masson Massey and Evan Bell battled for the second position. After bumping fenders in the turns, Bell settled into second by the third lap, but Massey would reclaim the position before the race’s end to finish second to Boswell.

Clark won the pole position for the Masters feature and led the field to the green flag. Followed by John Ponzio in second and Terry Mathis and Rick Geddes fighting for third, the Atlanta Motor Speedway president shot ahead of the field. Unopposed to the finish, Clark would go on to claim the win, with Ponzio taking second and Mathis settling into the third position.

Garrett Smithley sat on the pole to begin the Semi-Pro feature. Immediately challenged by Mike Weed for position, Smithley fought to retain his lead as the pair pulled away from the pack. Despite remaining close behind throughout the race, Weed was unable to pass Smithley for the win and the Peachtree City claimed his third-straight victory of the Winter Flurry season.

Winter Flurry action returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Feb. 12 for the fourth event of the 2010-2011 Winter Flurry season. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit

Jan. 15, 2011 Winter Flurry Results:

Bandits Feature:  1. Garrett Biggers (Charlotte, N.C.), 2. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 3. Woodrow Mullis (Hoboken), 4. Devon Barnes (Roswell), 5. Austin Geer (Johns Creek), 6. John Curtiss (Columbus), 7. Zach Leonhardi (Smyrna), 8. Banks Johnson (Lake Wilie, S.C.), 9. Cody Corley (Augusta), 10. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge),11. John Counsell (Evans), 12. Chase Hurt (Destin).

Outlaws Feature:  1. Parker Barnes (Roswell), 2. Joe Wilder (Marietta), 3. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 4. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 5. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 6. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 7. Christopher Clanton (Brooks), 8. Christian Thom (Peachtree City), 9. Scarlett Fernandez (Powder Springs).

Young Lions: 1. Brady Boswell (Watkinsville), 2. Mason Massey (Douglasville), 3. Evan Bell (Buford), 4. Justin Thomas (Woodstock), 5. Joey Padgett (Tallahassee, Fla.), 6. Charlie Gresham (Milner).

Masters:  1. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 2. John Ponzio (Hampton), 3. Terry Mathis (Cumming), 4. Rick Geddes (Newnan), 5. Mike Kennedy (Alpharetta).

Semi-Pro:  1. Garrett Smithley (Peachtree City), 2. Mike Weed (Franklin), 3. Casey Willingham, 4. Chris Bowie (Douglasville), 5. Mike Conrad (Cumming), 6. Mark Younginer (Stockbridge).

Pro: 1. Doug Stevens (Griffin), 2. Austin Hill (Douglasville), 3. Taylor Hull (Winston), 4. Jimmie Henderson (Conyers), 5. Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville), 6. Sean Rayhall (Winston).