Craig Slaunwhite Wins Battle, Wayne Smith Wins The War
Season Ends With Tight Points Battle in Nova Scotia
Series PR Report
Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay) and Wayne Smith (Timberlea) ended the Dartmouth Dodge 200 at Scotia Speedworld with plenty of reason to celebrate. Slaunwhite dominated the first half of the Dartmouth Dodge 200 but missed the call to the grid for the second half of the event, relegating him to the rear of the running order for the second segment of the season finale event on the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. Slaunwhite stormed back to the front of the field, battling with Shawn Turple (Enfield) for the closing laps of the event, taking the lead for the final time on lap 180. Shawn Tucker (Fredericton, NB) finished the event in third, followed by Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, PE) and Smith.

Dartmouth’s Mike MacKenzie started off the day by pacing the field in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials, blazing the Speedworld oval in a time of 14.326 seconds. Slaunwhite took advantage of drawing hat #1 in the Dash Draw and drove his #99 Halifax Glass and Mirror Chevrolet to the Fast Eddie Racewear Dash for Cash. Dartmouth Dodge Heat Races were taken away by George Koszkulics (New Glasgow), Donald Chisholm (Antigonish) and Daryl Mahar (Hubley) while the “B” Feature was captured by Brad Mann of Glen Levit, NB. All 29 cars that attempted to qualify for the Dartmouth Dodge 200 started the main feature. Slaunwhite took home the Linde Group Most Laps Led Award and the King Freight Lines Halfway Award. Hicken won the Vortex Brakes Pads Hard Charger Award.

Smith captured his third Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour championship with his fifth place finish in the Dartmouth Dodge 200. The championship is the sixth regional touring title for the man nicknamed “The Oval Outlaw.” Tucker and John Flemming (Halifax) complete the top three in the championship standings, unofficially, after event 12 of 12 on the season.

The Dartmouth Dodge 200 concludes the 2011 Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. The season will officially come to an end on November 26th at the Delta Prince Edward in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island when the Tour congregates on the Island for the 2011 Awards Banquet. More information will be available on as the event approaches.


Craig Slaunwhite Wins the season finale as Wayne Smith won the championship. (Series Photo)