Featured Event Winner List Grows at Bowman Gray
Burt Myers Moves Up Ranks, Joseph “Bobo” Brown Joins the Ranks
Track PR

Saturday was a historic event for Burt Myers at Bowman Gray Stadium. He claimed his 46th win, tying him for sixth on the all-time featured event list.

It was also a memorable night for Joseph “Bobo” Brown, who became the 119th driver on that list of featured event winners. Brown took the checkered in the second race for the GMAC Insurance Modified Series – his first Modified win ever at Bowman Gray.

Burt Myers, a resident of Walnut Cove, qualified on the pole for the first 25-lapper for the Modifieds. Right beside of him on the outside front row was Jonathan Brown of Winston-Salem.

As the green flag fell, Brown pushed hard on the outside, riding side-by-side with Myers for several laps. “I’ve been complaining all year about brakes,” said Brown. “I actually slowed up and tucked in behind Burt, because I was afraid I was going to wreck my car. I just could not slow the thing down.”

“We could run with Burt for a couple of laps but after that we were so loose I just couldn’t drive the car,” said Brown, who took advantage of those few laps after restarts to deliver some tough shots to the bumper of Myers.

“If you’re faster than the other guy, he can still get to you in the corner,” said Myers about the bumps from Jonathan. “It’s just tough Bowman Gray Stadium racing.”

Myers claimed victory in the first race. Brown finished second, and Brian Loftin of Lexington took third.

The O’Reilly Auto Parts “Madhouse Scramble” sent Joseph Brown, the brother of Jonathan Brown, to the pole for the start of the race.

Joseph “Bobo” Brown had to fight to hold his position in the initial start, but he emerged victorious 25 laps later – his first Modified win ever.

“Coming down the backstretch I was about in tears. I’ve won a bunch of stuff over here, but to win a Modified race - I still can’t believe that it happened,” said Joseph Brown, who comments that making the list of featured event winners is a thrill.

“Being there with Lee Petty and Ralph Earnhardt – even Tim Brown and Burt Myers and Jonathan Brown. In my eyes, this is the closest thing to the Sprint Cup. This track - it has so much history,” said Brown.

Dean Ward of Winston-Salem finished behind him in second. Austin Pack of Walkertown took third.
In the Webb Heating & A/C Co. Sportsman Series, Saturday was the Whelen 100 – the longest and most prestigious race of the season for the Sportsman cars. It was a family feud as Kevin Neal and uncle Tommy Neal battled for the lead.

Tommy “the Tiger” Neal of Walkertown looked hard to beat, but nephew Kevin Neal of Walkertown slipped inside of him with an aggressive move during a double-file restart. Kevin took the checkered, with Tommy Neal claiming second. Gary Ledbetter of Lexington came in third.

Brian Wall of Winston-Salem brought home the win in the 20-lapper for the 104.1 WTQR Street Stock Series. Donnie Martin of Winston-Salem and Matt Cotner of Rural Hall finished in second and third.

In the Freeman’s Auto Center Stadium Stock Series, Jimmy Absher of Rural Hall won the first 15-lapper, with Michael Wells of Walkertown taking victory in the second.

Race Results
GMAC Insurance Modified Series
1st Modified Race – 25 laps

11Burt MyersWalnut Cove, NC
253Jonathan BrownWinston-Salem, NC
323Brian LoftinLexington, NC
44Jason MyersWalnut Cove, NC
513Chris FlemingMount Airy, NC
625John SmithMount Airy, NC
783Tim BrownRural Hall, NC
866Ronnie CliftonWalkertown, NC
950Michael CliftonWalkertown, NC
1081Austin PackWalkertown, NC
1169Junior MillerDanbury, NC
1271Dean WardWinston-Salem, NC
1364Steven TruellWinston-Salem, NC
1428Joseph BrownWinston-Salem, NC
155Randy ButnerPfafftown, NC
160Greg ButcherMocksville, NC
1748Brad RobbinsWinston-Salem, NC
1875Lee JeffreysWallburg, NC
196Kevin WilsonElkin, NC

2nd Modified Race – 25 laps

128Joseph BrownWinston-Salem, NC
271Dean WardWinston-Salem, NC
381Austin PackWalkertown, NC
469Junior MillerDanbury, NC
550Michael CliftonWalkertown, NC
666Ronnie CliftonWalkertown, NC
764Steven TruellWinston-Salem, NC
84Jason MyersWalnut Cove, NC
983Tim BrownRural Hall, NC
1053Jonathan BrownWinston-Salem, NC
1125John SmithMount Airy, NC
121Burt MyersWalnut Cove, NC
1313Chris FlemingMount Airy, NC
145Randy ButnerPfafftown, NC
1523Brian LoftinLexington, NC
160Greg ButcherMocksville, NC
176Kevin WilsonElkin, NC
1848Brad RobbinsWinston-Salem, NC


Joseph "BoBo" Brown got his first career win at the stadium. (Eric Hylton Photography)               
Burt Myers in the number 1 got his 46th career win. (Eric Hylton Photography)