PASS North Celebrates 2010 at Banquet of Champions
Clark, Shaw and McKeage Take Center Stage as Champs
Series PR Report
A full house of PASS drivers, car owners, team members and fans gathered Friday night to celebrate the 2010 season and honor the racers who make the three PASS North touring series some of the best short track racing in the east.

In his opening remarks PASS President Tom Mayberry's hit upon the series' new dates at Oxford Plains Speedway and L'Autodrome Chaudiere, the addition of series sponsors Crane Cams Ignition and AP Racing, and the switch to Hoosier racing tires for all three Northern tours for 2011.Mayberry noted that a strong contingent of PASS North teams have pre entered THE RACE at Historic North Wilkesboro and he believes that the event is on track for an 80-90 car super late model field when the $75,000.00 to win PASS South race gets the green on April 7-9.

A long list drivers were honored with trophies and point fund checks for their 2010 accomplishments . Dan McKeage claimed his second PASS Sportsman title on the strength of two wins and seven top fives in the seven event series. Mike Landry was crashed out of the point lead at the series final Beech Ridge event and had to settle for second. McKeage edged Landry by 25 points for the crown. McKeage completed a story book season by capturing a second championship, the Pro Series title at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway. 2009 Sportsman titlist Carey Martin came home third in the standings with Clyde Hennessy fourth and Shane Tatro fifth. A total of sixty six teams made a PASS Sportsman start in 2010. R.J. Austin earned the 2010 PASS Sportsman Rookie of the Year award. Craig Smith was recognized with the Sportsmanship award and the Hard Luck driver was Mike Landry.

Andy Shaw sealed the deal in PASS Mod competition. Shaw drove Dave and Crystal Weir's Mod to victory lane in five of their ten starts. Shaw never finished outside the top five and beat “veteran rookie” Alan Wilson for the crown by 51 points. Wilson came on strong in the second half of the season to earn a win and six top fives. Scott McDaniel, Wayne Whitten Jr. and Bill Dixon finished the season third thru fifth. Wayne Whitten Jr. earned the Rookie title, Alan Wilson received the Sportsmanship honors and Scott McDaniels the most improved driver award. Sumner Sessions received the hard luck award.

The evening's awards wrapped up with Johnny Clark and his team receiving the accolades for an unprecedented fifth PASS North super late model title, his third consecutive championship Clark's run to the title was an impressive one; five wins, 10 top fives and 12 top tens in 13 starts gave him a forty point margin of victory over Ben Rowe. Cassius Clark, Trevor Sanborn and Donnie Whitten all gave chase for the championship, finishing third through fifth in the final standings.

Joey Doiron was honored as the super late model rookie of the year, earning one top five and four top tens on his way to ninth in the final series point standings. Johnny Clark received the super late model Sportsmanship award; Travis Benjamin received the hard luck award and Trevor Sanborn was the most improved driver. All told eighty seven drivers made at least one PASS North super late model qualifying attempt in 2010.

All three PASS North Series will kick off their 2011 campaigns at Scarborough Maine's Beech Ridge Motor Speedway on Saturday April 30. Learn more at and

Joey Doiron shows off the hardware he earned for becoming the 2010 PASS North SLM Rookie of the Year.  (Brenda Meserve Photo)